Skip navigation

150px-Flag_of_the_Free_State_of_Ikaria.svg37° 35′ 0″ N, 26° 10′ 0″ E

spending last two weeks vacation in Faros on Icaria – one of the Greek islands in Northern Aegean Sea – I was asked by Niki Kastanis who runs the tavern bar fos fanari on the longest beach of the island to finish with mason Costa two of prepared brick-layed plant pots next the side step of the bar´s terrace. – I already had collected with my son a lot of pattered stones out of the sea-shore, first interested in the patterns itself, then more inspired stone by stone to imagine shields and limbs of turtles. Every day swimming the beach along I imagined to meet one real living careta careta – a  loggerhead seaturtle –  once, several years ago, I was lucky to meet one careta near the Greek island Zakynthos  and did synchron movements in the sea with the turtle – an experience outa space! – I did not meet one in the water this time. But SHE came out of the water & tried three times to dig a pit for her eggs next the house I slept – unfortunately the stony ground under the sand or my & others precence I called – stopped her attempts. she crawled back over the gravel  into the sea. The astonished natives told me they had never sawn a turtle on their beach.  –  “You brought the spirit of the turtle to the beach”, Niki said exited & pleased.

turtle9

turtle10turtle11

turtle12

turtle8

turtle7

turtle3

turtle6

turtle4

turtle5

turtle1

turtle2

6 Comments

  1. Beautiful handiwork! Perhaps I shouldn’t say that- it’s such lovely art!

  2. it must have felt good to hear that from the locals

  3. ya, both, digging in the sands & getting feedback – twice!

  4. Very cool project.

  5. This is a great story about the turtle and the project honors it. I know that wall in Faros! As I am a fan of Ikaria I wrote about your work in Flickr Group Ikaria. There is a discussion topic “What’s your Art?”
    I hope you don’t mind.
    Greetings from Greece
    Nana

  6. hi Nana,
    just the reverse – it´s an honour for me to get Greek reference about my work! –
    the island Ikaria is one of the most mysterious & inspiring places I have ever entered.
    I have to put just one of your mentions right: there was FIRST the setting of the pebbles into Costas´ roughcast & then the appearing of mother turtle – that´s been the magic of the spirit that made me amazed!
    – an important lesson by nature for me about the power of art.
    greetings & best regards from Austria
    Andreas


Leave a Reply

