Skip navigation

the fevers of illness are always a deep hunting-ground for visions. since my childhood I did not bother the balls round the chest of Artemis I had seen on a statue of her at Ephesos in Minor Asia are female breasts until I read they are – testes! I could not accept that without disgust.

so I became aware we have lost this direct brutish source of visual imagination. the only eventuality I could imagine was a fruity one – why not a pomegranate that grows with pleasure in Minor Asia? – the colour similar to the blood of a bull, its grains like small testes!

& going further in painting this grains were growing, loosing weight & floating like balloons around the body of Artemis!   

all images watercolours in wet state

Leave a Reply

