Skip navigation

balloon-of-the-thumbs-1.jpg

watercolours on Ecus Sistina. still wet. photography at studio-light (at left a yellow touch – I like it cause changing atmosphere). dichromatic: green blue touching red blue. seems to be a balloon ascent – or descent? – farewell or touch to welcome?

Du Runder, der das Warme aus zwei Händen
im Fliegen, oben, fortgibt, sorglos wie
sein Eigenes; was in den Gegenständen
nicht bleiben kann, zu unbeschwert für sie,
zu wenig Ding und doch Ding genug,
um nicht aus allem draußen Aufgereihten
unsichtbar plötzlich in uns zu entgleiten:
noch unentschlossener: der, wenn er steigt,
als hätte er ihn mit aufgehoben,
den Wurf entführt und freiläßt —, und sich neigt
und einhält und den Spielenden von oben
auf einmal eine neue Stelle zeigt,
sie ordnend wie zu einer Tanzfigur,
um dann, erwartet und erwünscht von allen,
rasch, einfach, kunstlos, ganz Natur,
dem Becher hoher Hände zuzufallen.

 Rainer Maria Rilke, Über Kunst II (Von Kunst-Dingen, Kritische Schriften)

first-of-all.jpg

Andreas Roseneder first of all watercolours on Ecus Sistina / first sketch before starting the balloon-series

with the last four posts I gave a short insight into the working-process of painting in watercolours. it is just a short-cut-impression of what really happens at studio. I do not write in my mother tongue just with a view to my foreign visitors. I am a writer & I suffer under the inclination to write in poetic or essayistic ways, for some explanations too cryptic & not to decode for anybody. my poor knowledge of the English language helps to reduce to the important – please forgive my mistakes & shortcomings. on the other side – I think you can read into the titles of my posts that my words are bounded to my paintings or photographs – this could be a disappointment for these visitors & friends who are acquainted with my written words & expect more in German language– please excuse it too. I promise – there will be a comeback after my English-painting-lessons.

8 Comments

  1. This one must be a waterballoon, cause it moves me right down to my liquid spine. It is amazing and I just can’t stop revisiting to take a look at it every now and then. And oh, by the way, you’ve got mail – I hope.

  2. filled waterbubbles? – did not receive your mail!

    correction! – no bubbles – & after a look into the box – got it!, thanks!

  3. I’m sure she offers to welcome!

  4. yes, but shilly-shally!

  5. Or maybe she has gotten so used to her own little sphere inside the balloon that she’s overwhelmed to find a world beyond?

  6. no, I think she uses very self-confidently her little sphere as attraction to arouse the inmates of outer space

  7. females are hiding secrets in their spheres. they want you to find out.

  8. ok, but at the bottom I didn´t see it as male or female aspect, it´s not just a gender question, as representative male human I´ve painted a female body in (to my opinion) erotic movement, that attracts me seeing that & I hope others too (inclusive female spectators). it could also be a male body. & man have their secret inner sphere too.
    but: a woman maybe never would paint that in this way. isn´t here any man with an argument?


Leave a Reply

