Skip navigation

a-roseneder-kemgoez.jpg

I decided this evening to stop boring you with my colour-changing window-dressing, instead a really blue explosion on one of my oil-paintings and following story:

once upon a time (yes, it starts like in a fairy tale) there was a rock by the sea that, even with the force of a hundred men and a lot of dynamite, couldn’t be moved or cracked. there was also a man in this town by the sea, he was known to carry the evil eye (Nazar). after much effort and endeavor, the town people brought the man to the rock, and the man, upon looking at the rock said, “my! what a big rock this is.” the instant he said this, there was a rip and roar and crack and instantly the immense and impossible rock was found to be cracked in two.

incidentally I am blue-eyed. forgive me, guardians of the Islamic World! (see link nazar)

take also a look at: the evil-eye-balloon

 

6 Comments

  1. a beeing made of the darkest nightmare

  2. no being – just the effect of the force of human being´s illwill. (- far away from illustration – I read the story afterwards. – but as I know the story & reflect on the image now, I am surprised what I have created)

  3. a story. aha, i did not know.
    a story is never just a story.

    the paintings rises my yearning to Italy (Toscana)

  4. no one knows what it´s like
    to be the bad man…

  5. …to be the sad man

  6. behind blue eyes


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By nazar-boncuk-balon « poesis & crisis on 21 Apr 2008 at 11:47 am

    […] somebody came along to my blog searching “nazar-boncuk-balon”. I can help him. originally I wanted to follow the islamic tradition to stay ornamentic in expression but a female figure develops bejond the eye. more about the story behind that symbol: nazar, boncuk – veya tek kemgöz? […]

Leave a Reply

