Skip navigation

kristin.jpg

ANDREAS ROSENEDER                                      watercolours in ice 1999

the topic of the painter as author is one that I relate to but often find very difficult to express succinctly in words. being a native German thinker & spaeker this is even more difficult in foreign language like English now. next to “mission impossible”. it is hard enough to do that in German to become aware after some time the recipient could not follow enlightened my executions. today I took a photo of a watercolour-painting I did several years ago & you can now see above. to explain the technique of that artwork – I painted it at ten degrees below freezing-point & had to push my pencil through a thin film of ice that suddenly covered my water-glass, every stroke of my pencil covered the paper with a new coloured ice-film, then I crushed the film over my knees & continued colouring so the colour disappeared in the cracks of the surface: it is a kind of art to gain the knowledge of the technique of water-colouring under normal circumstances & to let the water run to its expressions – of course under this aggregate state of the water it is an adventure. naturally this artwork must dry several days under the same weather-conditions while continuing contolling & working on the vanishing parts of the painting to keep the traces of frost-work to the paper. what has this to do with my opening words? – gazing at this picture I thought about the comparison between painting & writing as the best example for the impossibility of a  comparison –  similar to the attempt to teach in words the necessary steps for an perfect ice-dancing-figure would be.

do not ask me why I titled this work “Kristin” in 1999. I just know I actually wrote these words for Kristin Krimmel.

more photos & German text concerning the topic: das obsolete aquarell

6 Comments

  1. And still, ever so often, the artistic mind seems to find far more ways of communicating than the rational, because of the way it experiences synergies, compatibility and parables where others don’t. I, for one, am very happy that You sometimes pracitice Your English skills! So should I! I love the painting, fragile and yet so very much alive.

  2. an Australian native teacher living in Austria told me yesterday my clumsy English is translating German thoughts 1:1. – therefore I am happy they reach all the same Finnish thinking people! (you brought my website-stats up to more than 3% from Finland – thank you!)

  3. Dear René,
    That is simply so beautiful in so many ways. First, the painting which has this technique that would be absolutely mysterious, but you have generously described how you got there for others. It is such a unique, experimental way of working, so it is admirable in itself that you are not bound by some crippling tradition that dictates how you work in watercolour. And then, beautiful in the imagery – the colours, the composition and the forms. And again, that you have written this, thinking of me, connecting to a person you have never met before and even now, only through this opportunity of sharing openly with others through blogging.
    Learning a second language opens so many doors for a person. I have learned French as my second language and know that it opened many new ways of thinking for me. Your English is very good – nothing to apologize for.
    And you have touched my heart.
    Thank you.

  4. This piece is amazing…and it feels “not of this world” as if the figure is suspended just beyond our reach, like so many questions in life.
    Your English is just fine…I only wish I could read your other words. I only speak English, and at times I struggle with that. I think that is why I try to paint hoping that my brushes will say what I cannot.
    Namaste’,
    ~suz

  5. Rene, this piece is very beautiful, and the technique must be one of the strangest and most interesting ever.🙂 If I understand right, the cracks we see are the actual traces left by the ice? I think you should do a whole series of this technique, it’s so unique.
    By the way, I was confused about the two names, until I realized you are both. lol

  6. the medium watercolour sank through the cracks of the icesurface & coloured the paper just there – after the ice was evaporated some days later there remained the traces of the cracks on the figure I had painted in an operation before with another icesurface (there are several layers one upon the other, on top the crack-layer) – unfortunatly the winter-season has gone— – what do I say!, I am looking forward summer-time. – maybe a pursuit next winter, I love working in nature!


Leave a Reply

